My husband Casey and I took our RV to Muskogee, Ok on Nov. 26th to the Three Rivers Museum where I had been invited to give a presentation about “Run Rabbit Run”, my book about my Grandma Edna. The members of the History Explorers Club were very receptive and had lots of fun questions for me.  Considering the cold weather and Thanksgiving approaching, I was very pleased with the turnout, and I sold several books.

Casey had a short appointment at the VA Hospital in Muskogee the next morning, and after having a great breakfast at the Shawnee Restaurant, we traveled on to Parsons, Ks to begin the Tippet Clan celebrations, but not without a small defugalty. Although we were bucking a hard North wind, we thought the wind noise was extra loud. While getting fuel at Big Cabin, Ok Casey noticed that the windshield on the driver’s side was pulled out about an inch at the top.  There is a truck and trailer repair shop right next door to the truck stop so we went there to get it fixed.  The repairman said he had never seen this happen before but felt he had the problem fixed before we went on.  About ten miles down the road, the windshield popped out at the top again.  Casey fixed it himself this time and I’ve been telling him ever since – “If the windshield on your motor home is held in with duct tape – you might be a redneck.”  He doesn’t seem to find it as funny as I do.  J 

My job was to prepare the pumpkin desserts for Thanksgiving, and I had also volunteered to make deer chili for the travelers who would be arriving on Wednesday evening. I couldnt find the timer – but felt sure that I could remember to check the desserts for doneness while I was making the chili. Well – Pammy “talks-a-lot” – my Cherokee Indian name, Ha! was talking and stirring (and drinking a little beer), when I remembered the desserts that had baked several minutes too long. Ooops!!  The nuts on top were very, very dark!  My niece, Jordan said we will swear that they are “black” pecans and are meant to look like that.  Actually, I didnt hear any complaints about them, and most of it was eaten the next day.

Sometime during a peaceful sleep after retiring in our motor home on Wednesday night, Casey and I wake up and we are freezing! Half asleep, we are trying to figure out why our hydro-heat has gone off.  Well – Casey is working on the problem – I don’t have a clue where the heat is coming from in the first place.  He decides that we will deal with it in the morning and he turns the generator on so we can have electric heat.  I heard him telling someone that it was a “three dog night” and we only had two dogs.

Thanksgiving Day turned out to be lovely in Parsons, and the recreation center was the perfect place to hold all 40 something of us. There was basketball playing and visiting and laughing and cooking – and most of all eating!!! We had 4 turkeys, hams, every kind of side dish imaginable, and umpteen desserts.  We were blessed!

Friday, the 29th, we rented the Senior Citizens Center to hold a celebration for David Charles Tippet’s 100th birthday. What a wonderful day it was.  More foodies of course – and Kelley had made awesome centerpieces holding memories from the past for all of the tables. Seth put together a great video of pictures and memories that made us all tear-up.  Friends and family came in all day bringing cards and wishing David a happy 100th.  Someone asked about my book and someone suggested I bring some in, and the family said sure thing – Grandpa David loves your book.  So I had another great book sales day. 

We all hung around at the Tippet home as long as we could on Nov. 30th to tell David happy birthday on his actual birthday. We watched him read the many cards that he couldn’t get to the day before, and even open a card from the President of the U.S. congratulating him on being a centenarian. 

Here is a little something that I wrote to my Father-in-law:

The Richest Man in Parsons, Kansas

 

David Charles Tippet, born on November 30, 1913 will celebrate his 100th birthday this November 30, 2013.

 

David and his bride Virginia (Toni) Tippet had eleven children and celebrated fifty-three years of marriage together. Nine of their children – along with their spouses – are going to be present – with their children and their grandchildren to help David celebrate his 100th birthday.

 

David survived the Great Depression, as a young man, riding from town to town in railroad boxcars and working only for his meals as he went. 

 

He served the United States of America in the U. S. Marines during World War II.  He spent numerous days living in a fox-hole and lived on a diet of coconuts in the Philippines. 

 

Having a great talent for writing and telling stories, David ran the Parsons News for several years until he was appointed Postmaster of the Parsons, Kansas Post office by President John F. Kennedy.  But even after his wife, Toni Tippet became the editor; David spent many long nights assisting her with the newspaper.

 

Not only did David and Toni raise their own flock, they took in their friends and eventually their in-laws under their wings.  I know that to be a fact because I was the first daughter-in-law, married to their eldest, Casey Tippet.  I had lost my daddy and mama both before I married Casey, and I consider myself to be very lucky to have married into such a loving family. Toni and David treated me just like I was one of their own.

 

A hundred years to treasure must have a world of fond memories – and a million bright meaningful moments for the heart to keep as sweet souvenirs.

 

David has a long list of friendships and people whose lives he has touched – plus so many priceless lessons from which we could all learn so much.

 

A treasure of knowledge from the decades you have seen through, and now you’re a proud centenarian, and the world has a treasure in YOU – David Charles Tippet.

 

Happy, happy 100th birthday – Dad, Father-in-law, Grandpa, Great-Grandpa, Great-Great Grandpa David.  We all love you so very much!

 

Pam Tippet (on behalf of the whole Tippet clan)

 

 

